Coach 1062 was built for the St. Louis – San Francisco Railroad (Frisco) in September of 1910 by The American Car & Foundry Company. This coach was part of ACF lot number 5522 consisting of cars numbered from 1052 through 1063.
Coach 1062 was re-built by the Frisco Railroad at their Springfield, MO coach shop during April and May of 1942.
During one of the rebuilds by the railroad (most likely in 1942) the car lost its clerestory roof and had a rounded or turtle back roof installed. This was done to enclose air conditioning ducting added when the car was equipped with a Waukesha Ice Engine. The Ice Engine was basically a refrigeration system with a compressor supplemented by a water chiller and was used to cool the car. The system was powered by a propane engine on the car. This system was still used by the museum on excursions during the 60s, 70s, and 80s. The cooling system has proven to be cost prohibitive to maintain and operate for our short trains, therefore we run the car with open windows during hot weather.
The coach was donated to the then Heart of Dixie Railroad Club by the Frisco Railroad in the 1960’s. The car although having gone through several cosmetic overhauls over its long life span, is still basically in the same configuration as it was when it was built. The car continues to be a favorite among our passengers as it offers a step back in time to train travel of days gone by.
Car History By: Jeff Murphree